Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Dogs (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=417)
-   -   German Shepherd cross rottweiler puppy 8 weeks old (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=599304)

• Sep 28, 2011, 04:18 AM
    GermanShep
    German Shepherd cross rottweiler puppy 8 weeks old
    Hi this is my first time ever puppy would like some tips in teaching him to poop outside in stead of indoors which he seems to do a lot. We take him out all the time but he never wants to poop outdoors is there any good tips that you can give me please ?I also want to teach him not to chew furniture and to walk him saftley across the roads to learn him to sit. Any other good tips is inraising him would be good thank you.regards Toni parker
  • Sep 28, 2011, 10:38 PM
    shazamataz
    8 weeks is very young so don't expect miracles in the toilet training department for a while yet.

The best advice I can give for toilet training is just to be persistent. Take the pup outside regularly, especially just after it has woken up from a nap or had a meal and just wait outside with it.
    When the pup poops inside just ignore it, clean up the mess and don't scold. Scolding for going indoors can often lead to the puppy going in more sneaky locations.
    When the pups poops outside praise like crazy, make the puppy think it has just done the best thing ever.

Dogs generally respond much better to positive than negative training so praise is the key.

Chewing furniture can be resolved by vigilance and with the help of some commercial products. Pet stores sell bitter spray products that you can spray on items you don't want chewed. Puppy goes to gnaw on a chair but instead of being rewarded with a chew toy, it gets a mouth full of yukky tasting spray that has been applied to it.