Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Immigration Law (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=167)
-   -   Deferring Grad school on F1 visa, is it possible? (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=303851)

• Jan 15, 2009, 08:16 AM
    SShr23
    Deferring Grad school on F1 visa, is it possible?
    Deferring graduate study on F1 visa, is it possible, what's the good way to do it?

I am a student who has recently been approved F1 visa for graduate study in USA at one of the colleges in New York. I am already here in USA on F1. My graduate study is starting from February 2009 but because of some unforeseen circumstance I will be able to start my studies only from fall this year. How do we go about this , is there anything that needs to be done for this.

So if my study is deferred, what will happen to my visa, will I have to go back to my home country & reapply for new visa or I can continue here on status

Thanks in advance, please let me know if you need more details. I look forward to hearing from you soon.
  • Jan 15, 2009, 11:14 AM
    lawanwadee
    Quote:

Originally Posted by SShr23 View Post
    Deferring graduate study on F1 visa, is it possible, what's the good way to do it?

I am a student who has recently been approved F1 visa for graduate study in USA at one of the colleges in New York. I am already here in USA on F1. My graduate study is starting from February 2009 but because of some unforeseen circumstance I will be able to start my studies only from fall this year. How do we go about this , is there anything that needs to be done for this.

So if my study is deferred, what will happen to my visa, will I have to go back to my home country & reapply for new visa or I can continue here on status

Thanks in advance, please let me know if you need more details. I look forward to hearing from you soon.