Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Electrical & Lighting (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=105)
-   -   400 amp service, 2 200 amp panels, 320 amp meter socket (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=101878)

• Jun 16, 2007, 09:56 PM
    GShelton
    400 amp service, 2 200 amp panels, 320 amp meter socket
    Hi, this is my first post here, but I have been reading a lot and have already learned a bunch.

I want to thank TK already and hope you reply to this.

I am in the process of designing my electrical system for my new home. I have some electrical experience, but am by no means a pro.

I am putting in a 400 amp service. This will come in through a 320 amp meter socket. At that time I need to break it out to 2 200 amp panels. But this is where it is different than the others I have read about. One panel will be on the wall inside that backs up to the meter. The other will be about 120ft away in a detached garage.

I am looking to split the incoming power in the meter housing. One side will run to the inside panel directly. (It will be equipped with a 200 amp main breaker.) The other side will run to a 200 amp panel or disconnect mounted outside next to the meter housing, then to the panel in the detached garage.

Now I know that the panel in the detached garage will have to be wired as a sub-panel, but my first question is, when I split it at the meter housing does the panel in the house and the outside panel/disconnect get wired as a sub-panel or do they both get wired as primary panels. (One is not feeding the other, they are both fed from the meter.)