Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Fish (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=516)
-   -   Can I put a stick of bamboo in with my Betta? (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=753740)

• Jun 14, 2013, 03:23 PM
    AerBear
    Can I put a stick of bamboo in with my Betta?
    My mother has bamboo plants and she recently found a branch of it broken off and it got me thinking, would it be harmful if I put a branch in with my betta? Or will it just rot and die? I have water conditioner so not to worry about that. And I know bamboo aren't a water plant, but it's just an idea. But if anyone knows of any plants that are OK to put with a betta fish please let me know! I'm new at betta owning :) oh and are sucker fish an okay fish mate? I've heard many things but I wanted to make sure before I made any decisions, and I have a pump too guys.
  • Jun 14, 2013, 03:35 PM
    joypulv
    The bamboo will rot. There are water plants for aquariums, salt or fresh water. Not too many floating ones so that the Betta can create a nest if it comes to that. They don't really like other fish except one at mating time. He might kill it.
  • Jun 14, 2013, 08:38 PM
    AerBear
    Quote:

Originally Posted by joypulv View Post
    The bamboo will rot. There are water plants for aquariums, salt or fresh water. Not too many floating ones so that the Betta can create a nest if it comes to that. They don't really like other fish except one at mating time. He might kill it.

Mind mentioning any plants?
  • Jun 14, 2013, 08:47 PM
    odinn7
    Go to the pet store and find some plants there.