Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Small Business (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=298)
-   -   Where can I go to bid on commercial cleaning contracts (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=407570)

• Oct 19, 2009, 08:00 AM
    Jim d jones
    Where can I go to bid on commercial cleaning contracts
    Hello
    I just started a commercial cleaning business about 4 months ago.
    I have some experience. Is there a site I can bid on contracts in my area?
    How do I obtain my first client. I did the free ads online, passed out flyers and business cards, any ideas please help!

Thanks!
  • Oct 19, 2009, 08:10 AM
    excon
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Jim d jones View Post
    i just started a commercial cleaning business about 4 months ago. is there a site i can bid on contracts in my area?

how do i obtain my first client.

Hello Jim:

People don't hire cleaning companies because of their bid. Even if you were to find a nice place to advertise and place bids, no company looks there...

Nope. They hire people because they're PEOPLE... So, the only way you're going to obtain your first client, is to go out into the world and make a sales call on him.

excon
  • Oct 19, 2009, 01:14 PM
    Clough
    Hi, Jim d jones!

You say that you have some experience. Was that working on your own or for someone else, please?

Thanks!
  • Oct 19, 2009, 10:40 PM
    Jim d jones

Working on my own.
  • Oct 19, 2009, 11:05 PM
    Clough
    Hi again, Jim d jones!

Have you tried "cold-calling" on potential customers? Also, where did you place free ads online, please?

Thanks!
  • Oct 20, 2009, 10:01 AM
    Jim d jones

I just started cold calling seems I've got a couple leads. There has been no deal yet though. My online ads are with yellowbot, merchantcircle, citysqures,monta, kudzu, yellow pages AOL any other ideas were I should ad my business

Please advise - jim
  • Oct 20, 2009, 10:21 AM
    Stringer