Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Taxes (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=320)
-   -   Resident alien with foreign bank account + private foreign retirement plan-form3520? (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=566469)

• Mar 29, 2011, 05:17 PM
    Peter-Berkeley
    Resident alien with foreign bank account + private foreign retirement plan-form3520?
    For 2010 I am a resident alien for tax purposes. I do have a foreign bank account with more than $10.000 so I to file form TD F 90-22.1 (thanks to bine2 for the clarification). While filing form 1040 - schedule B: Do I have to enter my foreign interest in part I? Who would be the payer, my foreign bank?
    Schedule B, part III: What is considered a "foreign trust" - my bank account? I have a private retirement plan I do pay money into every month, but I won't see any money before I retire... Do I have to report my foreign retirement plan (I pay, I don't get money yet) anywhere at all?
    Thanks for your help.
  • Mar 29, 2011, 10:43 PM
    MukatA

Yes, you need to report foreign bank interest on schedule B (Form 1040).
    No your bank account is not "foreign trust."
  • Mar 29, 2011, 10:57 PM
    Peter-Berkeley
    What about my private foreign retirement plan I pay into? I don't get any money before I am retired...
  • Mar 31, 2011, 07:09 AM
    taxesforaliens
    There are a few exceptions for reporting foreign accounts including tax qualified retirement plans
    Have a look here:
    http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0, id=148849,00.html
    and in the instructions for form TD F 90-22.1 to determine if your retirement account is exempt from being reported.
  • Jul 15, 2011, 02:03 PM
    frågamig
    Your foreign bank is not your foreign trust.

You must list foreign bank accounts and securities in the 1040B and list one or more countries in which they may reside in line 7b.