Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Other Law (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=190)
-   -   Privacy violation (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=334333)

• Mar 26, 2009, 04:23 PM
    girlzeena
    Privacy violation
    I am a New Jersey resident for the past 12yrs. I received Disability since 2005 for bipolar disorder.
    I assigned my ticket under the Ticket to Work Program within weeks of hearing about the program. I had hoped to take an Excel course which I thought would assist me in reentering the workplace. I met with The Department of Vocational Rehabilitation (DVR)’s caseworker Margaret Barry (Barry). She asked me to sign releases to obtain information from my psychiatrist and my psychologist, which I did.
    I had listed my disabilities as Bipolar Disorder, for which I receive SSI for, and since I have a hearing challenge which had affected my ability to participate in conferences, I listed that as well. My casework Barry, wanted me to list endometrial cancer as a disability. I informed Barry at that moment that I do not receive any type of disability income because I underwent treatment for that disease. I informed her that my treatment, which rendered me sterile, did not effect by ability to work as a CPA.
    I informed her that that was not disabling to me. I did not inform Barry, but the decision to have medical treatment which would taken away my ability to have children was extremely painful.
    Barry took the liberty to include as a disability “endometrial cancer” on the release form, without my knowledge or consent.
  • Mar 27, 2009, 11:29 AM
    twinkiedooter

You did sign releases for this information for the person. If he chose to include the cancer into your case, that was his prerogative to do so.

What difference does this make in your case? Probably none.
  • Mar 27, 2009, 12:05 PM
    girlzeena