Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rain67 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 25, 2006, 11:11 PM
    4 Kids in 1 Room
    My wife and I have a two bedroom house and we have 4 kids. The kids share one room and we have the other room. Is having 4 kids in one room against the law? We are in CA. Or, if it is not against the law, would it be looked down on if we have to go through a custody battle with one of our ex's? I'm just trying to figure out if we need to change things around. Thank you!
    scaredgal Posts: 18, Reputation: 10

Feb 26, 2006, 01:47 AM
    I am no lawyer but how old are the kids and are they the same gender because if it's a mixture of boys and girls that might be an issue.
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Feb 26, 2006, 05:56 AM
    Hi,
    I am not a Lawyer either, and do not know the law in your particular state.
    But, I know of no law which limits the number of children to a bedroom! Many families in America cannot afford to have 1 bedroom for each child.
    How old are they? This would be something to talk with a Lawyer about, and get a Professional opinion as to whether it would have an effect on a Child Custody case. I do wish you the best.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Feb 26, 2006, 08:09 AM
    Hello, I know of no laws that decide how many kids you can have once the kids are yours.

With that said, there are requirements if you were to go out and try to adopt. Normally no more than two children to a bedroom, two children of the different sex after todler have to have separate rooms.
    I don't remember for sure but after three people they want two bathrooms. They also have square footage requirements.

Now these are not laws for child welfare and abuse investigations.

but of course it will be used against you if you go to child custody court.

Things I have used in the past.