Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    helpinghand Posts: 33, Reputation: 1

Jul 26, 2005, 05:39 AM
    Light switch pops
    On occasion, I will turn on a light switch and it will make a slight pop (not loud at all but you can hear it). It doesn't happen all the time, actually it doesn't happen all that often. What causes this? Just curious if this is normal or if its something to be concerned about. Thanks!
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Jul 26, 2005, 07:44 AM
    It may be arcing from accumulated dirt, etc. I think a new one is about a buck, and would take 5 minutes to change. Get rid of it.
    kp2171 Posts: 5,318, Reputation: 1612
    Uber Member

Jul 26, 2005, 09:36 PM
    Does the fuse blow? Did you open it up and look for arcing? Or check the wires to make sure they're clean and tight?

Otherwise do as labman says. Spend the buck and change!
    vvhirI Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 16, 2008, 05:54 PM
    I'm not an electrician, but I have the same problem (light switch pop noise) & can offer this:

New home, about 6 light switches were installed upside-down (when light was off, these light switches were in the "up" position). I took those light switches and made them right-side up to satisfy my OCD. I never noticed the problem before that, but maybe I wasn't paying attention. I think that's when the problem started as well.

The pop is heard most of the time when you operate light switch at normal speeds. When you operate it at high speed (quickly flick switch), pop isn't heard or is VERY faint. Also, popping noise DOES sound like an arc inside the switch and if switch is operated at slow speed, there is a fizzle or static sound, followed by a electrical burn smell.