Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lemtrac7 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 7, 2007, 12:15 PM
    1991 chevy 2500,5.7 liter, auto,2 wd
    Hey folks this is my first posting here and I will be grateful for any advice you have.
    My 1991 Chevy 2500 pickup is sick. It was running fine until, It started missing and will not take fuel when you press the accelerator. I have some background working on engines but when it comes to diagnostics I am lost.
    At the suggestion of some friends and others I have replaced the distributor,rotor,cap wires, plugs,ICV,throttle position sensor,fuel filter. What it is doing is lopping at idle and misses real bad when you accelerate. It is not flooding because there is no black smoke or raw gas smell. I have looked for wires that maybe broken or shorted and found nothing. It was running great until this problem started. It was a sudden problem. Do you think it could be the fuel pump or ? I am open for suggestions. Thanks
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Oct 7, 2007, 01:34 PM
    . Test for codes.

. Test all under-dash and under-hood fuses with a test light or multimeter. Here's how:

https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/cars-t...tml#post252145

. Test/replace the Ignition Control Module (ICM) and coil. Here's what the ICM looks like and costs:

While we find your parts, please enter your ZIP Code at PartsAmerica.com

Here's what the coil looks like and costs:

While we find your parts, please enter your ZIP Code at PartsAmerica.com

AutoZone can test ICMs and coils for free. If the problem persists, it may be ECM-related.
    Flying Blue Eagle Posts: 2,056, Reputation: 225
    Ultra Member

Oct 7, 2007, 07:54 PM