Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bethelyse Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 26, 2005, 10:50 AM
    Help... Dog cries every night in the crate...
    My one year old dachshund cries every night at around 1am in his crate for no other reason then to be let out to come sleep in my bed. We try to ignore it and tell him to lay down but this will go on for an hour or so until we finally give in and let him out. Any suggestions??
    Thanks
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Nov 26, 2005, 12:19 PM
    He knows you will let him out. :p

I'm no expert, but I've seen a few episodes of that Dog Trainer guy on TV and it always seems that habits like this are broken within several days.

If you can live with it for a week - and not let him out - I think that will be your answer.
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Nov 26, 2005, 09:47 PM
    If you have been letting him do this for most of a year, I doubt it will go away in a few days. Many smaller dogs are very strong willed and end up dominating the household. There are many 4 legged Napoleons out there.
    Having a good pack structure reduces such problems. The dogs see all the
    People and dogs in the household as a pack with each having their own rank in
    The pack and a top dog. Life is much easier if the 2 legged pack members
    Outrank the 4 legged ones. You can learn to play the role of top dog by
    Reading some books or going to a good obedience class. A good obedience class
    Or book is about you being top dog, not about rewarding standard commands with
    A treat. Start at http://www.dogsbestfriend.com/.