Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mnolan7715 Posts: 14, Reputation: 2

Aug 7, 2007, 05:45 PM
    Is my boyfriend cheap, or am I just crazy?
    My boyfriend and I have been dating for over a year now, and the issue of money in our relationship has not really improved. Ever since the first date, we have split everything 50/50 (we met for a few drinks on our first date, and yes, I bought him as many as he bought me). Although we don't split the cost of every little drink or every dinner, it evens out as he'll pay for one evening out, and I'll pay for the next. I wouldn't have a problem splitting the cost if we made the same amount of money, but we don't! Not even close! I'm a school teacher who paid my way through college and graduate school (and is now struggling to pay back the loans) while he works for a major financial firm in Manhattan and makes good money (and has not a single loan nor credit card). He just got a mid-year bonus in addition to his end of the year bonus! Still, he expects everything to be 50/50. We are moving in together soon, and I'm afriad this might not be the best thing for our relationship. The apartment we found costs 1550/month on Long Island. That's exactly what he pays for his studio in Manhattan now. The apartment I live in now costs me 800/month. He wants to split the rent 50/50, but that would mean that he's saving $775/month by moving in together, and I'd be saving $25/month by moving in together. In the end, he'd be saving so much, and I'd still be struggling to make ends meet. He's also not planning on getting a car once he leaves the city, so I'd have the only car which of course he would use yet not pay a dime for! Owning a car costs me almost 600/month! Don't you think that's unfair? He's fully aware of my financial situation, but he doesn't seem to care. As a teacher, my summer paychecks are given to me in one lump sum on the last day school. Due to unforseen costs such as a broker fee, security deposit, and first mo