Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    richardlbj Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Aug 6, 2007, 08:23 AM
    Cooling: blower runs but compressor does not start
    I have a heat pump outside and a blower in the attic. Both made by YORK. My system stopped cooling a week ago. The blower keeps running but the heat pump does not start.

I checked the circuit breaker in the basement and the power disconnect next to the outdoor unit. Both are good.

I studied the manual it says on cooling calls, the system makes a R to O to reverse the heat pump, a R to Y to energize the contacts which starts compressor and fan, a R to G to start the blower. I removed the cover from the control panel of the heat pump. There were no visible loose wires. I tried a power detector like a screw driver and it detected power on incoming contacts. I watched when the blower started, a small metal plate on the contacts block closed. Then there was a noise that lasted about a second. Both the compressor and fan did not start. The noise repeated about every minutes.

Currently I have the system in "OFF".

What should I do from here?

Thanks, RB
    esquire1 Posts: 2,483, Reputation: 209
    Ultra Member

Aug 6, 2007, 01:47 PM
    You have power coming into the contacts, but will the contacts pull in? If not and I'd asmune they aren't, with unit on and thermostat calling for cool do you have 24 volts on the coil side of contact. That will be where a small wire will connect on each side. If you carefully pust in on contacts and the unit will run, more than likely the coil is bad and will need to replace complete contactor. Look for a broken wire from air handler to the outside unit. It will be 2 thermostat wires in a brown sheave.
    NorthernHeat Posts: 1,455, Reputation: 132
    Ultra Member

Aug 6, 2007, 02:25 PM
    Check the capacitor.
    acetc Posts: 1,004, Reputation: 79
    Ultra Member

Aug 6, 2007, 08:18 PM