Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    AmyGonzalez Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 10, 2007, 06:53 AM
    Cost per foot for painting
    How much do businesses usually charge per foot for painting interior and exterior?
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Jul 10, 2007, 02:59 PM
    One of the things that I do for a living is that I am a painting contractor. I am self-employed. Most painters that I know of charge by the square foot. If the paint is to be applied by a roller, around where I live, the price would be approximately .70 cents a square foot for two coats on a perfectly flat, non-porous surface with little or no imperfections that need to be repaired or patched. For textured and brick walls, I would make it .90 cents a square foot. If the surface has never been painted previously, or has any type of sheen to it, then it will need to be primed. I would charge .45 cents per square foot to apply one coat of a primer with a roller. I just include making small repairs and patching in the prices that I have already mentioned. If you do have to make extensive repairs to a surface, then I would make an estimate as far as how long I think that it would take me to do the patching or repairs for an estimate. For around where I live, I figure about $20.00 per hour.

You could call other painters in your area and just ask them what they charge per square foot for various types of surfaces.

I am curious as to why you are asking and wondering if you wouldn't mind telling me? Are you just starting in a painting business or just seeing what someone might charge per square foot to determine what you might be paying someone?
    biggsie Posts: 1,267, Reputation: 125
    Ultra Member

Jul 10, 2007, 04:11 PM
    Check out this site -- hope this helps

Cost of Painting a House - Get Prices and Estimates - CostHelper.com

If my answer helped, please click Rate this Answer below. Thanks
    Uber Member

Jul 11, 2007, 11:33 AM