Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    collegian Posts: 57, Reputation: 1

Feb 3, 2018, 04:10 PM
    Married joint tax return possible?
    Hello,

I am a Resident Alient for tax purposes. My wife lived with me in the US from June 2017 - January 2018 so she satisfies the substantial presence test for the tax year 2017. She didn't have any income in the US or abroad during the tax year 2017. I got married in May 2017 and changed my tax status from single to married (joint) thus causing a substantial reduction in my tax.

I just found out that in order to be able to file a tax I need to file for her ITIN for which I need to produce her passport as a proof and visit one of the tax centers with her in person. Now since she is abroad and doesn't plan to come back anytime soon is it still possible for me to be able to file my tax return as joint and married?

If that is not possible can I file as married but single for tax purpose or do I have any other options?

Please advise.

Thanks.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 3, 2018, 05:00 PM
    You have multiple options; see below:

If you want my professional help, email me at the address in my profile.

You will need to apply for an Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN) for your wife by submitting Form W-7, and that process underwent some radical procedural changes in 2013. Instead of the simple notarization process, the IRS now requires that your home country certify the photocopy of your passport as a true copy. This is due to rampant fraud in the ITIN submission process. The notaries simply cannot tell the difference between a fake passport and the genuine passport.