Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Phouli Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Aug 18, 2013, 01:16 PM
    Craftsman riding mower has no electrical power. Fuse is fine. No hour usage display.
    I'm a novice, and there is absolutely no electrical power. Fuse good, battery fully charged. Not even a hint of display on the usage meter. Sears was no help at all unless I wanted a service appointment. I know a tiny bit about repairs since my hubby was in the appliance repair business for thirty years. I have a meter, but don't know what or where to check. Any help would be appreciated.
    DG Posts: 1,375, Reputation: 109
    Ultra Member

Aug 18, 2013, 01:28 PM
    What model is it could be two fuses.
    Check key switch , should be one hot wire even with key of.
    If not track the wire that's on the hot side of solenoid until you find trouble ,
    Should be red . This wire should go to fuse also .
    Check for power on both side of the fuse , even if the fuse does look good.

Aug 18, 2013, 01:33 PM
    Model 917.28858
    Fuses looked fine, but will test with meter. Will try your advice on key switch, but it's a molex connector and I don't know which slots to check.
    Quote Originally Posted by DG View Post
    what model is it could be two fuses.
    check key switch , should be one hot wire even with key of.
    if not track the wire that's on the hot side of solenoid until you find trouble ,
    should be red . this wire should go to fuse also .
    check for power on both side of the fuse , even if the fuse does look good.

Aug 19, 2013, 05:24 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Phouli View Post
    Model 917.28858
    Fuses looked fine, but will test with meter. Will try your advice on key switch, but it's a molex connector and I don't know which slots to check.