Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ang123 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 27, 2006, 11:11 AM
    Legal interview question
    Can an employer ask if you have been arrested for a misd. Or felony in an initial interview prior to being hired? Thanks in advance for your response.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Nov 27, 2006, 04:19 PM
    Yes, normally at least in the US, it is on most applications you fill out before you are even called in for an interview.

There are many jobs where a criminal record would keep you from being hired.
    T-Ree Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Mar 22, 2007, 08:44 PM
    Yes, they can. I am an HR Professional for the government and that is sometimes one of biggest concerns with potential applicants. Please be honest.
    dflak Posts: 18, Reputation: 3

Mar 28, 2007, 11:42 AM
    You may consider being proactive and pre-empt them. They are going to find out anyway. So if you can get it out of the way in the beginning, things will go smoother from that point on. If you can honestly say something like, "I made a mistake. I paid for it. I want to put it behind me and get on with my life," you'll score a lot of points.
    Fritzane Posts: 16, Reputation: 1

May 1, 2007, 01:32 AM
    First be prepared to face the realities of your job.Know the kind of work and company you are to work for.Don't be shabily dressed else you will be asked that question.Give your interviewer a different impression that you are not that type convicted by your appearance.Please put on a suit than a baggy jeans on this occasion.Be self-less and remain focus and gentle.These are the modes or apprearances that will give a good image to your interviewer.Even if you have been convicted you will cleared of it by offering you the job since they know you are out for a challenging and changing life in your new task.
    tweettweet Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jul 7, 2010, 03:05 PM
    No
    SKIPPYDO Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 10, 2011, 12:19 PM