Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    twinsplusone Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 22, 2007, 05:43 PM
    Living on a Cul-De-Sac
    I am new to living on a cul-de-sac and have so far enjoyed it. We have 5 houses on our U shaped cul-de-sac. Three families have children with similar, younger ages. The other two families have older children. One w/a 10 year old and one family with a 9 & 6 year old. The 3 families w/the younger children, we sit outside and watch our children as they play, reprimand where its needed and are observant for car's pulling in the cul-de-sac. The other two families w/the older children, just send their kids out to play. They don't even come out to see if we would mind watching their kids. The three of us (the mom's) are really fed up with this and want to hear any advise on how we could go about changing this without having bad feelings with the other two families, given that we have to live w/each other for a while!

Thanks, Twinplusone
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Mar 22, 2007, 06:00 PM
    If they are "older" kids, then the kids are to go out and play and don't or should not be needed adult supervision playing in their neighborhood.

It is common in our area for 6 and 9 year olds to be in the yard playing by thierself with their parents in the house.

I don't believe it is correct to expect parents with children older enough to be out by their self, to have to be out there,

And actually no it is not your business how they do their children, and no it is not your place to try to change something that is most likely not wrong to start with, and second really none of your business.
    twinsplusone Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 22, 2007, 07:02 PM