Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    prasada Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 8, 2012, 12:31 PM
    h1b visa eligibility for masters degree done in online in india
    Hi I did my masters through online course in India.So am I eligible to apply for H1 b visa.Please help me out from this dilemma.Thanks in advance
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Sep 8, 2012, 01:09 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by prasada View Post
    Hi i did my masters through online course in India.So am i eligible to apply for H1 b visa.Please help me out from this dilemma.Thanks in advance
    H1B is a work visa. Do you have employment in the US? INDIVIDUALS are not eligible to apply.

"The US H1B visa is a non-immigrant visa that allows US companies to employ foreign workers in specialty occupations that require theoretical or technical expertise in specialized fields such as in architecture, engineering, mathematics, science, and medicine. Under the visa a US company can employ a foreign worker for up to six years.

Applying for a non-immigrant visa is generally quicker than applying for a US Green Card, therefore the H-1B visa is popular for companies wishing to bring in staff for long-term assignment in the US.

Individuals are not able to apply for an H1B visa to allow them to work in the US. The employer must petition for entry of the employee. H1B visas are subject to annual numerical limits. US employers can begin applying for the H-1B visa six months before the actual start date of the visa. Employers can apply as soon as April 2, 2012 for the FY 2013 cap, but the beneficiary cannot start work until October 1, 2012."

http://www.workpermit.com/us/us_h1b.htm