Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rjones929 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 3, 2009, 02:35 PM
    Bringing down swelling from an abscess
    I have a abscess tooth and can't afford to go to a dentist. Is there any over the counter remedy that I can use to bring the swelling down and kill the infection. I found online that oil of clove can be used. However its only good for the pain. I need something to bring the infection down. Any suggestion is welcome.
    artlady Posts: 4,208, Reputation: 1477
    Ultra Member

Apr 3, 2009, 02:40 PM

Warm salt water rinses every couple of hours. Good and salty.Dont rinse after you use it.Do not apply heat to the abscess it just makes it worse.

I am not a medical professional but I have resorted to this myself before.
    rjones929 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 3, 2009, 08:14 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by artlady View Post
    Warm salt water rinses every couple of hours. Good and salty.Dont rinse after you use it.Do not apply heat to the abscess it just makes it worse.

I am not a medical professional but I have resorted to this myself before.
    How long should I wait before drinking anything?
    Amir1981 Posts: 246, Reputation: 6

Apr 3, 2009, 08:16 PM

The tooth was always be infected and needs extraction or root canal... an extraction at a dental school will cost less than 100$.
    artlady Posts: 4,208, Reputation: 1477
    Ultra Member

Apr 3, 2009, 10:38 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Amir1981 View Post
    The tooth was always be infected and needs extraction or root canal...an extraction at a dental school will cost less than 100$.
    I agree totally .I did not mean to give the impression that this should be considered a cure.

I should have specified that this is for swelling and you can drink a few seconds after just don't swallow it ,rinse your mouth.Then have a drink.
    flossie Posts: 1,903, Reputation: 181
    Ultra Member

Apr 4, 2009, 04:32 AM