mbrougham Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 15, 2012, 03:31 PM
    Reasonable fee for Power of Attorney
    P/a
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Aug 15, 2012, 03:37 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by mbrougham View Post
    I am a Power of Attorney for financial and health/housing for a non-family member. THe POA states that I can be paid a reasonable fee for my services. What is a reasonable fee? I am having to miss work taking vacation and unpaid leaves and spend several weekends/mo to manage health and housing issues. I am being reimbursed for travel expenses but what about my time?

Where? It matters.

It is recommended that the parties have an agreement about fees - what you consider "reasonable" may not be my idea of "reasonable." That's where problems start.

Why do you have a P/A for a non-family member? P/A can be land mines.

In NY P/A's go to Court regularly to establish fees, particularly if the person dies and heirs get involved.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Aug 15, 2012, 04:22 PM
    A Power of Attorney is merely someone that signs for another person, if they are not present or can not sign.

Are you doing more than this ? Are you also a care taker, It is not a power of attorney duties to manage anything. Merely sign or do the business for the other person. If you are taking them to doctors, you are transporting not P/A
    Deanna4286 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 29, 2013, 09:30 AM
    What are reasonable fees for power of attorney in the state of Georgia?
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Oct 29, 2013, 11:15 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Deanna4286 View Post
    What are reasonable fees for power of attorney in the state of Georgia?
    This should really be in a new thread.