Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Filthy_Gorgeous Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 22, 2009, 10:28 AM
    How to dye black hair red.
    I've been dying my hair for about 3 years now. My natural color is a very nice shade of medium to dark brown. At first I began by simple bleach highlights, giving my ahir the effect that it was all over dirty blonde. About a year and a half ago I began dying my hair red, and tried a few different shades, enjoying them all. I later dyed my hair back to brown for a few months before recently dying my hair black. I want to return to my fun auburn/burgundy red color, but am not sure how to go about it. I'm in college so I don't exactly have a disposable income. I was curious as to whether the hair stripping processes sold at local pharmacies will do just enough so that the red will stick to my hair? I don't want to bleach it, my hair is too damaged already. I've also heard of buying a VERY VERY light shade of red haircolor, and that between the lightness of the shade and the black, it will even out nicely. Iss this true? Does anyone have any relatively cheap suggestions?:confused:
    Perito Posts: 3,139, Reputation: 150
    Ultra Member

Jun 22, 2009, 11:56 AM
    The first thing you need to understand is that once hair is colored, it contains artificial pigment. Artificial pigment cannot be lightened using another, lighter haircoloring. You can darken it (deposit more dark pigment), but you cannot lighten it. This is why color removers were invented.