Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    edzback Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

May 18, 2012, 03:10 PM
    30 amp 240 volt breaker, 15 amp outlets
    I recently put up framing walls in my basement and am now ready to install 7 15 amp outlets. I picked up a couple 30 amp 240 volt breakers from the hardware store. My questions are is it OK to use this size breaker for 15 amp outlets? And how many outlets can I hook up to 1 breaker? Building a bar in basement, but will moat likely just use the outlets for lights, maybe a TV,. not sure.
    Stratmando Posts: 11,188, Reputation: 508
    Uber Member

May 18, 2012, 04:12 PM
    What size wire did you use? no matter, you will need to use a 20 amp Breaker(s), the larger wire will reduce voltage drop.
    You could put them all on one as you describe. I might have a circuit for a refrigerator, Microwave, Blenders?

May 18, 2012, 04:42 PM
    I'm no professional, between asking a friend @ work, and numerous YouTube videos I just went out and picked up the metal outlet boxes, 15 amp outlets cause they were inexpensive, and when I asked a friend what kind of wire he said 14-2 so I picked up a cpl hundred feet of the 14-2 wire. The problem I ran into was I didn't know what kind of breaker my box took, snap on, screw in.. ect etc... so once I found out it was a snap in, I ran to the hardware store and 30 amp was all they had. But I was reading some of god responses to other questions earlier and it made me nervous that I may be using the wrong size breaker, which is why I asked. So your saying, return the 30, for a 20 and I can put all 7 on 1 breaker? Originally I was going to put 4 on 1 breaker and 3 on another, but if I don't have to run more wire that would be good... was a pain the first time .
    Uber Member

May 18, 2012, 04:47 PM
    I figured you used number 10 since you mention 30 Amps. Since you used 14-2 you will have to use a 15 amp single pole breaker, I ALWAYS use number 12.