Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Apr 6, 2007, 12:14 AM
    Why Do Some People's Have Runny Noses When They Are Eating
    Just wanted to see if anyone has any insight as to why and what is physically going on when some people get older they always have a runny nose when they are eating. I personally, used to see this happening all of the time when I worked as an activity aide at a nursing home. Now, I find that I have developed the same problem whenever I eat something. It happens all of the time to me. Is there a cure for this?
    SHAVED Posts: 275, Reputation: 41

Apr 6, 2007, 03:51 AM
    In medical dictionary it is known as Vasomotor Rhinitis. Unfortunately no information is available so far what is the real cause of this type of non-allergic runny nose. It may be a hypersensitive response to a dry atmosphere, air pollutants, spicy foods, alcohol, strong emotions, or some medications. Vasomotor rhinitis is not caused by an infection or allergy.
    iminlove Posts: 31, Reputation: 5

Apr 6, 2007, 06:02 AM
    My father is 62 and this just started happening to him last year.
    He had a heart attack and bypass and was discovered to have diabetes.
    As soon as he was home and started recovering this problem developed.
    My father said the doctor told him it was from various medications but no one specified which medication might be causing this.
    Lady1717 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 19, 2007, 02:50 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Clough
    Just wanted to see if anyone has any insight as to why and what is physically going on when some people get older they always have a runny nose when they are eating. I personally, used to see this happening all of the time when I worked as an activity aide at a nursing home. Now, I find that I have developed the same problem whenever I eat something. It happens all of the time to me. Is there a cure for this?