Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    JMN1262 Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Sep 1, 2011, 09:13 AM
    Mortgage not recorded for 8 years
    Hello I purchase my home 05/2003 from a private party contract for deed private party sold my loan to a mortgage company 06/2005 they in turn sold it again with in 30 days , I have been paying the mortgage company for 6 years I have ask them a dozen time to record my mortgage to homestead my home falling on deaf ears come to find out that my name has never been on the deed and mortgage has never been recorded in the 8 yrs I have been paying , I talk to the mortgage company and found out they have no papers sign by me stating I have a mortgage with them that's why they can record the mortgage is there any legal action I can take since I have been paying them for 8 yrs and no one ever recorded my mortgage but sold my home 2 times
    LisaB4657 Posts: 3,662, Reputation: 534
    Expert

Sep 1, 2011, 09:15 AM
    Don't worry about the mortgage right now. It's more important that you make sure the deed gets recorded immediately. Who handled the closing for you when you purchased the property? Who has the original deed right now? Find that deed and get it recorded now. Then you can deal with the mortgage.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Sep 1, 2011, 09:26 AM
    You said you originally purchased the property under a contract for deed. Generally, with a contract for deed, you do not own the property until the contract is paid. So what you have may not be a mortgage. The seller may have simply contracted with the lender to service the contract.

So my first question is who currently holds the title? If it is the seller, you need to find out the terms of his contract with the lender. Also what were the terms of your contract? How long do you have to pay before the contract is complete?
    Expert

Sep 1, 2011, 09:34 AM