Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Merrywidow87 Posts: 24, Reputation: 1

Aug 20, 2011, 11:06 PM
    Autocratic parents
    I'm 24 years old and can't stand living at home. My parents are consverative and strict. I'm at an age when I should be leaving home. I was a straight A student and have never done drugs or been pregnant. Why can't my parents understand that at 24 I want to grow up? Why don't they want me to ever leave home? I'm a mature adult and have a job and car. All I get is screaming and verbal abuse from them. Why is this?
    redhed35 Posts: 4,221, Reputation: 1910
    Ultra Member

Aug 20, 2011, 11:19 PM
    So why don't you get your own place? Your not locked into a room? Or are you?

Once you do move out they will adjust, but the break away won't happen by just talking about it, you have to put the talk into actions.

I have no idea why your parents are fighting you over this, you know them best.

You're an adult as you say, so go do it, you can still be a good daughter living somewhere else, it might even improve the relationship.

Aug 21, 2011, 01:39 AM
    Well 2 problems. I don't have a full time job. My supervisor only gives full time to her friends and family. No one else even gets considered, no matter how long you've been there.

I want to go back to school, but I don't know how to do this without moving out. I don't where to get the money from.

I've looked at options but there's either no housing where I could stay, during the coarse. Or I don't know where I'm going to get the money to rent and go to school.

Another option is to apply to a university very far away. I would like this very much.