Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Gotquestion12 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 21, 2011, 06:11 PM
    Can I be fired for being out sick, with doctors note?
    I have been out sick for 3 weeks with pneumonia. Doctors note excusing me from 6/5 threw 6/18. Went back to work for 1 day on 6/19. So sick still, lungs in pain. Revisited doctor for the 3rd time and he authorized me to be out again from 6/20 thew 6/24. My very first visit was with a nurse Practitioner. My employer is very upset that I have been gone for so long. Told me he is on the fence with me, on what to do with me. I have been working there for almost 4 years and have had 2 longer medical leaves. 1 for a surgery, out about 1 n 1/2 months. 2nd broke my arm, and home for a month or little more. Of course working there this long there have been times of head colds or just the 2, 3 day flu we all get. Is it legal to fire me for being out this time with pneumonia? And having all my doctors information for him?
    missy706 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jun 21, 2011, 06:21 PM

I should hope not! That's just crazy you can't help that you got sick that's life. Since you have all your paper work you should be fine. If your boss fires you then their just an @**hole...
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jun 21, 2011, 06:58 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by missy706 View Post
    I should hope not! That's just crazy you can't help that you got sick that's life. Since you have all your paper work you should be fine. If your boss fires you then their just an @**hole...
    You have a good heart and a foul mouth, but know nothing of the law. We pride the site with actual real legal advice, not feel good opinions that are not based on law and actually just plain wrong.

So please unless you have actual info and facts, we do not want non legal answers in the legal section.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jun 21, 2011, 07:01 PM