Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    noetemmelig Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 29, 2006, 03:50 PM
    Can I dye my black hair brown?
    I've been dying my hair black with permanent dye for about five years. The last time I dyed it was four months ago, and now I want to dye it dark brown. Can I just dye over it or do I have to get rid of the black first?
    PrettyLady Posts: 2,765, Reputation: 332
    -

Oct 2, 2006, 07:03 PM
    Yes, you can dye it over. Permanent hair color consists of both peroxide and ammonia, and can make hair darker or a few shades lighter.
    Sarahh93x Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Dec 2, 2010, 10:27 AM
    The ;ast time I got rid of jet black hair was bleach am not sure about dying over I think it would take some time
    emilieboudrias Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 20, 2011, 06:11 PM
    Comment on Sarahh93x's post
    Did it turn out to be bleach blonde? Because I have the same problem but I want dirty blonde hair not BLEACH blonde! Please reply ASAP!
    HLBucior Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Mar 23, 2011, 07:37 PM

You should lighten it a little first even if its just to an orangish color. Color cannot lift color. Unless it's a light color and your only going a shade or two lighter.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

HELP! Brown hair color turned my hair a dark red! [ 31 Answers ]

So my girlfriend helped me color my hair to hide a few gray hairs coming in. Its usually a light to med brown, thought I might go darker. We used Loreal excellence crème ( Medium Brown). It actuall turned my hair into almost a dark redish brown, looks like I have naturally dark red hair! HELP! ...

HELP: Going from Black Hair to Brown Hair [ 42 Answers ]