Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kyleleaann Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Dec 14, 2010, 11:32 AM
    Sealed Combustion chamber
    I believe my hot water heater has a bad thermocouple. I went to start to replace it, and it has a sealed combustion chamber. I removed the 4 screws and tried to take off the cover. It didn't budge. Am I just not trying hard enough? I am afraid I am going to break something else in the process. I am a novice handyman, but everything I have read says this is a an easy fix. The hot water heater is a Rheem Ever Kleen.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Dec 14, 2010, 12:26 PM

They make a lot with that title Rheem Gas Water Heaters which one is yours? Lets start by talking about why you think your thermocouple is bad, what's happening? BTW after removing the screws you may need to pry the corner of the door with a flat screw driver

Dec 14, 2010, 02:03 PM
    Comment on ballengerb1's post
    The model # is 42VR50-40F. The pilot went out yesterday. We were able to relight it and it stayed on for about 6-8 hrs, then went out again. When we tried to light it it just kept going out. We follwed all the directions, but it didn't stay lit.

Dec 14, 2010, 02:05 PM
    I did try prying it with a screw driver, but was unsuccessful. It seems to be pretty stuck. If I pry really hard can it damage anything? Is their something besides the 4 screws that needs to be loosened?
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Dec 14, 2010, 02:06 PM

I agree with your thoughts about just replacing the thermocouple, cheap and normally easy. Any luck with that flast screw driver?
    shader Posts: 235, Reputation: 12

Dec 14, 2010, 02:08 PM