Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    schooch10 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Dec 5, 2010, 11:31 AM
    Want to marry woman in ghana
    I have been talking to a woman in ghana for 2 months now and we are serious about each other. We want to get married but her uncle said he want a traditional wedding but I don't have to be there it just a ceremony they do and than we can get marriage license and get married and I don't have to go there ,se will come to me on airplane. We have been sending pics and video back an forth and talking on the phone. Can someone tell me if this is true or is she trying to scam me
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Dec 5, 2010, 11:33 AM

It's a scam.
    DoulaLC Posts: 10,488, Reputation: 1952
    Uber Member

Dec 5, 2010, 12:21 PM

I'd tread very carefully on this. I agree with Wondergirl, and would error on the side of caution and consider it a scam. I would think that if her "uncle" is so concerned about following tradition, that a big part of that would be to have the groom present.

Are you in the US? If so, even if you went through with this ceremony, she would not be able to just come over so that you can get married. The process of bringing someone to the US for marriage is long, expensive, and will require more than just phone calls and pics to document that it is a legitimate relationship.

Personally, I'd hold off. If you two really do care for each other, at the very least you should plan for a trip to be able to meet in person and spend some time together before marriage is even considered.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Dec 5, 2010, 12:39 PM

99% chance it's a scam. It will become 100% as soon as they ask you to send some money.

Dec 5, 2010, 05:01 PM
    I have a friend in ghana