Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tweety35 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 10, 2009, 01:16 PM
    Can I get arrested if I don't show up to court if I'm getting sued in divorce court?
    Can I get arrested if I do not show up to court if I'm being sued in a divorce procedure?
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Dec 10, 2009, 01:24 PM

I don't think it's a crminal offence to miss a court date, even if you are being sued by your spouse. Of course, you are just delaying the inevitable.

Tick
    trulytrying Posts: 122, Reputation: 6

Dec 10, 2009, 01:56 PM

If you were summoned to court and don't show--you can lose your case by default... they will view the divorce as uncontested and rule in your spouses favor.
    If you were subpoenaed and don't show--you will be in contempt of court and an arrest warrant will be issued.
    I'm not a legal expert in the least--this is just what I came up with by a quick search of the legal terms.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 10, 2009, 04:27 PM

If you don't show up, ( actually there are forms to sign that says you are not showing up and you just agree to everything)

Which is what happens, if they want 100,000 settlement and you don't show up, they win.
    marizcorpuz Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 8, 2010, 04:27 AM
    What happens if defendant don't show up in divorce court?
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member

Sep 8, 2010, 09:49 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by marizcorpuz View Post
    What happens if defendant don't show up in divorce court?
    There is no "defendant" in a divorce - there is a petitioner and a respondent.

This question has been answered above. If the respondent does not appear at the court date, they may lose by default.
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Sep 8, 2010, 10:23 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by this8384 View Post
    Incorrect.