Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ogaontebale Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jan 10, 2007, 05:31 AM
    External HDD recognized, but not visible in MY Computer
    Just bought a new USB2.0 Hard Drive External Storage System. I coonected it through USB and gets recognized by the computer but would not appear in my computer? I have never used it before and I assumed I would see it there, just like a Memory Stick when inserted.

Assist
    Ona.
    SESaskDFC Posts: 214, Reputation: 17

Jan 10, 2007, 08:19 AM
    Howdy and welcome to AMHD:

That is typical when the hdd has not been formatted yet..

If you are using XP, go to Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Computer Management..

Now, click on Disk management..

When the new window opens, right click on the external drive and select "format"..

Once formated, you should be able to "see" it..

Murray
    rehansiddiq Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Jan 13, 2007, 03:16 AM
    And if the USB Disk already fomated and contained Partitions and you are using Server 2003 then you just have assign the Drive Letters using Disk management
    Because in Server 2003 you have to assign the Drive Letter like ( E: D: J: etc) although the Disk is already and having Data…
    dondeballi Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 14, 2007, 05:24 PM
    Just bought a new USB2.0 Hard Drive External Storage System. I coonected it through USB and gets recognized by the computer but would not appear in my computer? I have never used it before and I assumed I would see it there, just like a Memory Stick when inserted.
    mschultz Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 17, 2007, 07:25 PM
    I have a similar problem where the device manager recognises the HDD when plugged into the USB port BUT does not appear in My Computer or the disk management snap in?

Any ideas?
    peterseth Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Jan 27, 2007, 07:28 AM
    It is working!