Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Serenity2009 Posts: 57, Reputation: 0

Aug 10, 2010, 10:51 AM
    What are some advantages and disadvantages of a new years eve wedding?
    I want to have a New Years Eve Wedding and I am a caterer and baker so I know that my services are free, but What other ideas do you ladies and gents have like décor and or advice. I was supposed to get married this year but Fiancée and I had some losses in the fam and we are postponing it till 2011 new years eve.

Thanks
    redhed35 Posts: 4,221, Reputation: 1910
    Ultra Member

Aug 10, 2010, 11:00 AM

I think a new years eve wedding is a great idea...

Do you have a venue?

If so,I'm sure they will have christmas décor up,plus a big christmas tree..

Lots of candle light if its allowed..

At some weddings I've attended they have had a pig on a spit in the evening... amazing taste.

Starting the first day of your married life on the first day of the year... I think its great.

I can't come up with a single disadvantage,most pubs/clubs /venues are mobbed on new years eve...

Your guests finding babysitters is more likely to be a problem,and some couples will have their own traditions,maybe spending it with elderly parents of grandparents...

OK,maybe 2 disadvantages.
    Jake2008 Posts: 6,721, Reputation: 3460
    Emotional Health Expert

Aug 10, 2010, 11:25 PM
    I agree with Red- what a GREAT idea- New Years' Eve!!

What a way to ring in a new year.

Depending upon where you live, weather will be a factor. Where I am from, I would recommend having a generator on standby. Also blankets, a wood fireplace, and some hot soup.

Advantages are endless- especially if you have snow. Ice skating on a pond, hay rides, hot chocolate under the stars. Activities for guests would go far beyond the usual dancing. The theme of both winter, and New Years, together- is putting my imagination in overdrive.