Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Sunshine62583 Posts: 47, Reputation: 1

Sep 21, 2008, 02:54 PM
    How do I get my 11 month old to sleep through the night?
    My son is almost 11 months old and he still gets up 1-2 times a night. I am trying to get him to sleep through the night, but he wakes up and WANTS to eat. I have tried just waking and rocking him, but he WILL NOT go back to sleep until he has had something to eat. How do I break this?

:)
    Thanks!
    simoneaugie Posts: 2,490, Reputation: 438
    Ultra Member

Sep 21, 2008, 03:26 PM
    What does his last meal consist of, before bed? What type of food allows him to get back to sleep?

Sep 21, 2008, 07:22 PM
    He eats regular food for dinner (around 5-6pm), basically whatever my husband and I eat, but just cut up. Then just before bed (9pm) he gets a formula bottle (around 6oz) with rice or oatmeal cereal to thicken. I have been thickening his formula since he was 4 months because he had bad GERD, now I just thicken it before bed & in the middle of the night to keep him fuller, longer. When he wakes at (1am) he gets another 5 or 6 oz of thickened formula again. He usually wakes up around 5-5:30am for another bottle, but I don't thicken this time. He then goes back to bed till around 7-7:30am.?
    redwee74 Posts: 74, Reputation: 11

Sep 21, 2008, 10:10 PM

Sunshine, this sounds harsh but I would feed him more than 6 ozs at 9 and then let him lay there till he goes back to sleep. I mean if he crys for more than 30 to 40 minutes get up but the habit has to be changed. I have a child and it worked for him. Just make sure nothing is wrong with him and let him lay. He is not starving just control him not him controlling you. Sorry if that sounds harsh it really is not just hard to write it with that coming across.
    Ultra Member

Sep 22, 2008, 01:18 AM
    Sunshine, I agree with redwee. This child is old enough to be hungry, growing, at night. He is also old enough to pull your strings.