Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Tinkerbell2004 Posts: 49, Reputation: 17

Jan 20, 2010, 01:18 AM
    My dog literally just had a puppy... what now?
    Okay, so I've never bred dogs before && I believed my 3.5lb yorkie was having a false pregnancy, but apparently somehow my 7lb yorkie got down to her level... this has never happened before && they have been together for about 5 years now. We really didn't think it was possible, apparently he's a little more talented then we first believed. Okay so she just had this puppy at 11:30 pm on 1/19/10. I need ideas on EVERYTHING! Since I have never done this before, is there certain food I should be feeding Chloe (the mother)?

Also, Chloe has always been a "mommy's" girl, she is having issues paying attention to her puppy if I walk away from her at all. She would rather sleep with me then with her puppy. I tried blocking them in a small area together && Chloe just barked, whined, && scratched at the door. I thought maybe she would give up on it... but she didn't. If I let her && the puppy lay next to me, she's fine. But there's no way I can sleep like this. Is the extreme motherly instinct going to kick in soon so she'll pay attention to her puppy more then she will me?

So many questions! Any advice is greatly appreciated!
    shazamataz Posts: 6,642, Reputation: 1244
    Uber Member

Jan 20, 2010, 01:40 AM

Honestly there is far too much to type on here.
    I love love love this page by Chelse Collies, it's very informative and thorough.
    Have a read through that page and come back here if you have any questions.

Good luck!

Newborn Puppies....Care of the Newborn puppy

She may not be finished yet but if she wasn't showing odds are there was only one.
    Just keep a very close eye on her and if she is acting stressed get her to the vet immediately.

Oh and don't forget to get your b*tch spayed once the pups are weaned, can't forget that part ;)
    Lucky098 Posts: 2,594, Reputation: 543