Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Sozza Posts: 2, Reputation: -1

Dec 27, 2006, 07:29 PM
    Mini Dachshund Breeding
    Hello,
    I have a mini dachshund she is around 10 months old and weighs 3.1kg's.
    I would like to have a litter from her, not for money purposes or flash purebred breeding but just for the sheer pleasure of having a litter of puppies from my beautiful little girl. She had her first season at about 8 months and I would like to breed from her on her next season. I have breed many litters of pups from small and big dogs before so I'm not a novice in this area it is just that I have had many weird comments when it comes to dachshunds. I have had many mixed comments from people saying that breeding them is really hard that that she is too small and so on. And other people say it would be fine. If anyone knows anything about breeding mini dachshunds please let me know.. the good and the bad things would be nice to hear.
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Dec 27, 2006, 07:56 PM
    Please don't! You don't give your location, and the 3.1 KG alerts me to perhaps you are not in the USA. We have a terrible problem here with people breeding excessive numbers of often low quality dogs. How much research have you done on her? It what ways is she outstanding with fine qualities worth passing on? Is she and the dogs in her pedigree free from common problems with Mini Dachshunds, allergies, back problems, etc. I am afraid your selfish pleasure will only contribute to the general misery of the dog world.

If you insist on going ahead with this misadventure, at least wait a little longer. If she comes in season again in 6 months, she would be being bred at 14 months and delivering at 16 months, very much on the young side.
    Sozza Posts: 2, Reputation: -1

Dec 27, 2006, 08:42 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by labman