Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    John Beanland Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

May 15, 2009, 07:33 AM
    How to do an exterior painting estimate
    I am wondering how to accurately calculate a painting estimate for exterior jobs... Thanks!
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

May 18, 2009, 11:16 AM

Since you are asking we must assume you are not a pro so keep in mind you can't shoot for pro pricing. Painting Tools | Paint Calculator | Color Chart | Houston Painting | Interior Home Painting | Exterior House Painting
    John Beanland Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

May 18, 2009, 12:23 PM
    I have been painting for over 10 years, but mostly interior work. I've also painted plenty of decks and small jobs for exterior... however. Recently I have begun to take on bigger jobs and I am Inc my company as I have a lot of leads and estimate requests. In the past I worked at an hourly rate... but for obvious reasons that has to change. I have also hired a 4-man crew that has some experience, but I will be there at all times. I know which products to use and how to prep properly, but its giving an accurate estimate that is new to me. I found a software that seems to work... My current job is about 1244 (that is with the windows in mind... ) they want 2 coats... approximate linear feet of fascia is ~ 140 ft and trim is about 244 linear ft. I figured it calculated ;

About 170 sf / gal of paint for 2 coats
    Total of about 18 gal needed plus the usual supplies (e.g. putty, caulking, solution for powerwashing... )

I can give you exact numbers if you wish... I based it on the software that I used...

Thanks!
    jon123 Posts: 240, Reputation: 3

May 24, 2009, 06:39 AM