Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    maidenrob Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 4, 2009, 06:10 PM
    CPVC Cement vs PVC Glue
    My sump pump went out on me this week and when I replaced it , I inadvertently used CPVC cement on my PVC pipes instead of the PVC glue. Is this going to cause a problem?

Thanks,
    Rob
    DrDi Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 4, 2009, 06:55 PM

Hi rob, my son just walked in the room as I was reading your question. Him being a master plumber I figured he'd know the answer. He said that it will cause no problems and should work better than the pvc glue.

So, not to worry!

I'm new-my first post.
    massplumber2008 Posts: 12,832, Reputation: 1212
    Senior Plumbing Expert

Feb 4, 2009, 08:20 PM
    Like DrDi said...

Although not ideal, you have only cemented a few joints.. yes? You should be OK here.

More important is if the sump pump has a check valve and have you considered a battery back-up sump pump in case of power failures..? Is this for a finished basement or unfinished basement? Let me know answers as I may have info. That will be helpful... ;)

MARK
    xyrium Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 3, 2009, 07:22 PM

Mark, funny you should ask about the back up pump. I am about to install a back up pump in my sump area and am facing the same dilemma as Rob. I have orange CPVC glue but I'm using PVC pipe. To my knowledge, the CPVC orange has a stronger adhesive quality than regular PVC cement, is this correct?
    Senior Plumbing Expert

Mar 3, 2009, 07:29 PM
    I have heard you are correct here... ;) However, PVC does not only require cement... it also requires a PRIMER.

Different plastics contract/expand at different rates. I recommend that you use the correct PRIMER and CEMENT for PVC if using PVC... :)

You can never go wrong with a back-up pump! Good for you!

MARK
    xyrium Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 4, 2009, 12:38 PM
    Geez, primer. Like foreplay for PVC... ;)

Thanks for your reply Mark!