Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    CAluckigal Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Feb 16, 2009, 04:31 PM
    Unmarried Mother Rights to move out of State
    I am a California Resident and have a 14 month old son who was born and is being raised with me in California. I currently live with my boyfriend who is also the father of my son. The relationship is not a good place for me and I have been very unhappy for over a year. I pay for half of our rent, half of our utilities, half our food, all my bills, and all of our son's financially needs from medical bills, food, diapers, wipes, clothes, toys, bottles/sippy cups, and part time childcare. My boyfriend/father of my son barely ever contributes time with our son, refuses to change diapers, refuses to wash anything form of dishes that our son uses, won't feed our son, does not contribute any money to anything for our son, etc.. I have no family where we currently and all my family lives out of state in Indiana.

Do I have the right to move with my son back to Indiana to live with my mother?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Feb 16, 2009, 04:40 PM

I'll assume the boyfriend is on the birth certificate. So there was no court hearing for custody, suppoort or visitation.. As long as that is the case, you can move with breaking any laws.

If the father takes you to court for visitation, there is a possibility, but I believe a thin one, that you will be ordered back. On the other hand, I would file for support as soon as you get settled.

Feb 16, 2009, 06:35 PM

Father is not on birth certificate but we do have formal documentation by a dna agency proving he is the father.

Feb 16, 2009, 06:42 PM

Doesn't change my answer
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Feb 16, 2009, 07:17 PM