Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Josskacer Posts: 14, Reputation: 1

Aug 12, 2008, 04:48 PM
    My cookies keep falling apart!
    I am new to baking and I decided to start with something easy. I have tried to make the oatmeal cookie recipe on the Quaker Oat box. I follow the directions exactly but the cookies always crumble apart when they are picked up. Even after they cool for an hour they still fall apart. Also they seem rather greasy, the recipe calls for using a half pound of softened butter, that seems a bit high because I have seen cookies that other people bake and they are not greasy like these are? Any suggestions?
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Aug 12, 2008, 05:08 PM
    What kind of flour do you use?
    What kind of flour does the recipe call for?
    Do you sift the flour?

What do you use butter, margarine or shortening?
    Which does the recipe call for?

My cookies fall apart or melt if I sift the flour and use margarine
    melloboi23 Posts: 48, Reputation: 2

Dec 14, 2008, 01:07 PM
    Also check the weather humidity will ruin cookies and cause the symptoms you mentioned.
    andrewc24301 Posts: 374, Reputation: 29

Dec 29, 2008, 06:48 PM

In my opinion and expirence with this, you have selected one of the more difficult cookies to bake. My oatmeal cookies has similar issues. They would hold together, but they would sag real bad.

I recommend starting with an easier cookie, such as chocolate chip or peanut butter.

At least that way you will have something to munch on while you are perfecting the oatmeal.

Keep practicing though.
    Grumpyoldlady Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Jan 3, 2009, 01:31 AM

With my years of experience, it sounds like your either not adding enough flour, or your adding too much, I know a recipe calls for a certain amount, but like the previous answer's, humidity and sea level can also screw with recipes !