Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Zekes Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 26, 2008, 09:34 AM
    Felon selling guns at a gun store
    Can a convicted felon work at a store that has a Federal Firearms License and sells guns.
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Sep 26, 2008, 01:13 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Zekes View Post
    Can a convicted felon work at a store that has a Federal Firearms License and sells guns.

I vote no - that's what my research shows, although I have no personal knowledge.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Sep 26, 2008, 01:29 PM

Nope, and they would not even be able to work in a store that sold guns if they had the ability and access to those guns.
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Sep 26, 2008, 01:52 PM
    No, they cannot. Convicted felons are not allowed to be in possession of firearms or be on any premises that firearms are housed or sold.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Sep 27, 2008, 05:52 AM
    Hello J_9:

You mean that when I went into Sporty's gun shop with my son the other day, I was breaking federal law?? I don't think so.

excon
    Expert

Sep 27, 2008, 06:29 AM
    I suppose I worded that wrong, you are correct Ex... you were not breaking the law. There cannot be any firearms on the property in which the felon lives, and the felon cannot sell firearms.

I apologize for my answer above, I answered on the fly with only 3 hours of sleep. Brain was still asleep.
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Sep 28, 2008, 05:09 PM

Felons can still go to gun shops and gun shows. They just can't take anything home with them (legally) that is.
    stubby007 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 25, 2009, 05:28 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by twinkiedooter View Post
    Felons can still go to gun shops and gun shows. They just can't take anything home with them (legally) that is.