Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    frustratedBV Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Aug 27, 2007, 03:56 PM
    Recurrent Bacterial Vaginosis - What to do?
    I have been suffereing with recurrent BV for the past 6 months. I have had two separate treatments with the antibiotic metrodinazole (sp) - one treatment was for 1 week. The second treatment was for 2 full weeks. During treatment, the symptoms go away but they come right back within weeks of finishing the pills. I don't think that antibiotics are going to work for me and I've tried some natural remedies that seem to help for awhile, but the BV eventually returns.

Does anyone know of anything that actually works to get rid of BV for good? I'm not interested in a 'miracle cure' off the internet unless someone can actually recommend that it worked for her.

I know that so many women suffer from BV but it remains to be a topic that isn't commonly discussed. The first time I even heard of BV was when I was diagnosed! The symptoms (vaginal discharge and fishy odor) are embarrassing but I'd like to be open with other women and figure out what helps others!
    maddy1 Posts: 17, Reputation: 1

Aug 27, 2007, 06:11 PM
    Any chance you are having sex during/ after taking antibiotics? I kept getting it back after treatments. Come to find out they had to have my boyfriend take medication too. Finally got rid of it.. for awhile anyway, still comes back now and then.

Aug 27, 2007, 09:08 PM
    I didn't have sex while taking the antibiotics. But I am married, and, of course, I did have sex after! I don't want to be celibate after all - ha ha!!