Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    skiweasel Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 12, 2007, 08:56 AM
    Connected to wireless network, but can't get on the internet
    I am from the US and I'm currently studying in Spain and on the roof of my house here, I have a very strong connection to a wireless network that is titled, "wireless". It is not locked and doesn't not require any kind of password and I connect right away without it saying that I have limited or no connectivity. When I try to open a webpage or get on the internet in any way, however, it just won't work. I don't understand why it says I have a strong connection, but won't actually connect me to the internet. Can anyone help me? Thanks!
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Feb 12, 2007, 08:57 AM
    Sounds to me like it is MAC filtered and you won't be able to surf using this connection.
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

Feb 12, 2007, 09:34 AM
    You have set the DNS server addresses manually on the laptop:

To configure TCP/IP, follow these steps:
    1. Click Start, click Control Panel, click Network and Internet Connections, and then click Network Connections.
    2. Right-click the network connection that you want to configure, and then click Properties.
    3. On the General tab (for a local area connection), or the Networking tab (for all other connections), click Internet Protocol (TCP/IP), and then click Properties.
    4. If you want to obtain DNS server addresses from a DHCP server, click Obtain DNS server address automatically.
    5. If you want to manually configure DNS server addresses, click Use the following DNS server addresses, and then type the preferred DNS server and alternate DNS server IP addresses in the Preferred DNS server and Alternate DNS server boxes.
    hoganso Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 20, 2008, 11:03 AM
    I'm connected to my wireless but I can't get to the Internet?
    naimlatifi Posts: 26, Reputation: 1