Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MrsHec4 Posts: 118, Reputation: 4

May 1, 2008, 03:51 PM
    Dog eating granola bars?
    My dog ate one of my nature valley oats and honey crunchy granola bars he hasn't shown any signs of being sick but I'm afraid it might be dangerous for him in the long run. Anyone ever had any experience with this? It's all natural ingredients but I'm still learning about what a dog can and cannot eat and I don't want to be the cause of him falling ill because I let him eat something he shouldn't have.
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

May 1, 2008, 04:10 PM
    If you knew all the things that my Jack Russel eats and likes that is considered "people food" you'd relax about granola bars. I don't know of any ingredient contained in granola bars that would hurt your dog. My dog likes iceberg lettuce, strawberries, watermelon, chili, spaghetti, coffee with cream, ice cream (Bryers thank you), walnuts, pecans, peanuts, chicken, pot roast, steak, olives, pickles, potato chips, loves sardines, salmon, crab meat, shrimp, red licorice, sour gummys, lemonade, hamburgers, broccoli, peas, corn, green beans, canned peaches, ramen soup, macaroni, mozzarella cheese, cheddar cheese, any kind of cheese, crackers of any kind, Campbell's soups, tuna fish, raw egg noodles (loves better than dog biscuits), hard boiled eggs, and her ultimate favorite is Q-tips with the paper sticks. She has never been ill in her life eating this mis mash in addition to her regular kibble food.

And you are worried about granola bars?
    KISS Posts: 12,510, Reputation: 839
    Uber Member

May 1, 2008, 06:18 PM
    My dog of long ago really loved the juice left over when squeezing tuna in the can and any kind of cheese.

The meanest thing I did was to put whipped cream on the tip of his nose and watch him try to "lick it off". It was hilarious. Dog learned to wipe on paw and eat method quickly.
    MrsHec4 Posts: 118, Reputation: 4