Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    disintegration Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 23, 2007, 08:47 PM
    Getting off the depo shot. Or not.
    hello. My name is josie and I'm 24 yrs of age. I'm engaged to be married next year. (by then I will already be 25) my future husband and I plan to get pregnant by 27. I've been on the DEPO shot for about 2-3 yrs. I haven't had a period since. I'm due back for my next injection on the 28th of this month. My question is, would it be wise to get off the shot now? Or wait another year? (being that it takes 9 months to a little over a yr to conceive.) or so I've heard. If someone has answer or ANY advice to give, id really appreciate it. Thank you
    averybojangles Posts: 12, Reputation: 2

Mar 23, 2007, 09:40 PM
    I am an nurse... of course I always recommend that you talk to your OBGYN, but it might be a good idea that you stay off the Depo and take a monthly BCP or patch for as long as it takes for the two of you to decide that it is time.
    The half life of oral BCP is much less, so when you decide to get pregnant, you won't have to stop your birth control for as long.
    You are obviously sensitive to the Depo since you haven't had your cycle for so long.
    Hope this helps!
    Talk to your MD.
    vrooje Posts: 28, Reputation: 2

Mar 25, 2007, 12:59 AM
    I'm not a medical practitioner of any kind... just someone who was on depo for about 4 years.

I had none of the side effects with depo that I had with the pill -- it seemed like it was just a little pinch a few times a year, and poof -- no worries about pregnancy. I was thrilled.