Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    PrttyBrownEyez21 Posts: 121, Reputation: 2

Oct 22, 2011, 06:57 AM
    Unsure about my major,need opinions
    This semester I transferred to a 4 year college after I graduated from a community college with an assoiciates degree in general studies. Going into this I had wanted to become a psych major,because I was always under the impression that that mainly revolved around counseling and that's what I want to do.I'm starting to learn that that is not the class,it's more math and science oriented. I really just want to help people and not have to spend a lot of time in school racking up student loans in order to do it.This semester I also found out about a human service degree, and I think that sounds more like what I want to do.What do you think?Anybody have any experience with this?

Thanks
    mattasmith Posts: 14, Reputation: 4

Oct 27, 2011, 07:32 PM
    PrttyBrownEyez21:

If you are having questions about your major or wanting to know more about the human service degree, then an easy way to find out more information about the degree is visiting your school's website. Check to see if they have an "A-Z index". Then look under H for human service degree. You can find a suggested class sequence (what kind of classes you will be taking for the degree), see recent job placements of those who have received the degree (where people are getting jobs with the degree), and information about the professors who are in the department (those who will be teaching you).

There are a couple of things that I would suggest as well, since you are having a little trouble with choosing a major. If you have a career services or job placement program at your school, go and see if they have a personality test that you can take. After you take the test, they will have a list of potential occupations that generally go well with your personality. I am sure that this will include degrees that help people.