Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    perini1975 Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Nov 3, 2009, 08:24 PM
    Business of Preparing Tax Returns in NJ
    I have couple questions regarding the new business I'd like to open in NJ State:

- I have completed the IRS free training seminar on IRS.gov and have MBA in accounting - is that enough knowledge to start my own small business of preparing individual tax returns for small fees? Do i have to have CPA license to practice?

- can I use my SS# as tax id number since i am just starting out and don't want to incur unnecessary LLC or Corp. expenses?

- Without the CPA license, can I eventually venture into small business tax return world also? I don't plan on doing the audits since that is definitely CPA's job but just for bookkeeping and tax returns part, can I also accept small business clients?

I appreciate your time.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Nov 4, 2009, 04:50 AM

Yes, you can do tax returns.
    You need to get PTIN from IRS (for free), which you will use on the tax return instead of SSN.

Nov 4, 2009, 09:54 AM

What about the business tax returns part of the question - can I fill out business tax returns? Where can I learn about what needs to be done for these returns?
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Nov 4, 2009, 10:37 AM
    Given your accounting background, and with the purchase of a good professional-level tax software package, setting up a business to prepare individual returns should NOT be a problem. To date, there is no specific licensing or testing requirement to prepare federal returns.

You MAY have a licensing requirement to prepare NJ returns within the state of New Jersey, however. A visit to the NJ state tax website should resolve that question.