Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    carlasviercovic Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 5, 2009, 01:32 PM
    How do I file taxes for a J1 visa? Do I get money back?
    I have a J1 visa, I am a non resident allien working for denver public schools. I started this las September and would like to know what I have to do with my W2 tax form and if I will get any money back... thanks
    Carla
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Feb 6, 2009, 04:04 AM

On J1 you are exempt from residency for 2-years. You must file non-resident tax return and Form 8843. Your income is not subject to FICA taxes but you must pay federal and state income taxes. J1 researchers and professors are also exempt from federal income tax.
    Read: Your U.S. Tax Return: U.S. Tax Filing Requirements for Non-Residents
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 11, 2009, 01:36 PM
    Carla:

You MAY be exempt from federal income taxes. It depends on which country you are from.

Please identify your home country.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

How much money will my boyfriend get back on his 2009 taxes? [ 4 Answers ]

My boyfriend is filing head of household and claiming me and my daughter.. He made roughly 45,000 last year? Around how much can we expect to get back?

How to file taxes if under visa transfer [ 1 Answers ]

I transferred my h1b visa, I want to inquire on the ff: 1. Requirements from my previous employer for filling the taxes 2. Requirements from my present employer for filling the taxes 3. When would be the filling of the taxes Regards, cap_ece

F-1 Visa - working - ITIN - Should file taxes? [ 1 Answers ]