Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    fsm_forever Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jul 23, 2008, 11:36 AM
    Employer didn't contribute FICA taxes
    I work at a state college. When I was a student employee the college was not obligated to pay any FICA taxes. After I graduated I started working at the college as a full-time employee. Two years later the college admitted that there was a bug in their payroll system and that they had not been withholding any FICA taxes. They said I owed over $9000 to the government because of their mistake. They paid the taxes on my behalf and are now taking out money from each of my pay checks to reimburse themselves.

Obviously, if they had not had the bug in their payroll system I would have ended up paying this money over the two years I worked with them. However, am I obligated to pay my portion still? I've recently received a new job offer with another company. If I leave am I obligated to keep paying them back?

Any advice would be helpful,

Thanks!
    danielnoahsmommy Posts: 2,506, Reputation: 297
    Ultra Member

Jul 23, 2008, 11:37 AM
    Contact a good attorney
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jul 24, 2008, 09:38 AM
    Normally, students who work for their university ON CAMPUS are NOT liable for FICA taxes.

Contact the HR department have them check this out.

Jul 24, 2008, 12:24 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by AtlantaTaxExpert
    Normally, students who work for their university ON CAMPUS are NOT liable for FICA taxes.

Contact the HR department have them check this out.
    I think you misunderstood... I've worked full-time for a few years now at the college. They screwed up and didn't start contributing for FICA after I started working full-time.
    Senior Tax Expert

Jul 25, 2008, 05:11 AM
    Does not matter if you were working full-time. If you were a student at the same university, normally students do NOT have to pay FICA taxes.

Jul 25, 2008, 06:36 AM