Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    normajean Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 27, 2008, 10:09 AM
    International student -- which state do I pay taxes to?
    I'm an international student in Illinois. I've earned income in both Illinois and Tennessee, where I did a summer internship last year. Do I have to pay taxes on the income I earned in Tennessee to Illinois?
    normajean Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 28, 2008, 06:53 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by normajean
    I'm an international student in Illinois. I've earned income in both Illinois and Tennessee, where I did a summer internship last year. Do I have to pay taxes on the income I earned in Tennessee to Illinois?
    Can anybody help me? I lived in Tennessee during the summer for the internship. Tennessee doesn't have state income tax so I had no state taxes withheld. Do I have to report this when I'm filing my Illinois taxes? I'm technically not a resident of Illinois either... I'm still on an F-1.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

State return PA and/or IN Student taxes [ 2 Answers ]

HI, I am a resident of PA attending school full time in IN. I worked the summer in PA and during the school year in IN. I have two w-2's, PA and IN. I know there is some kind of agreement between the states but I don't know exactly what it is. I have filed my federal return, but I need help...

Do F1-visa student pay social security and Medicare Taxes? [ 1 Answers ]

I am F1-visa student. Currently I am working using CPT program. I leave in US for two years. And I am working the same company for two years. Starting from January, 2007 they ask me if I am a citizen for tax purpose and have to pay social security and Medicare taxes. They also sent this link to me....

Live in NJ but pay NY state taxes? [ 1 Answers ]